How to Pronounce 'ANEMONE' - English Pronunciation


In this episode, we cover the pronunciation of the word anemone. This word is used as a noun and refers to brightly colored flowers of the buttercup family. The word comes from the Greek word anem?n? meaining 'windflower'.

Below you can read feedback from an ITTT graduate regarding one section of their online TEFL certification course. Each of our online courses is broken down into concise units that focus on specific areas of English language teaching. This convenient, highly structured design means that you can quickly get to grips with each section before moving onto the next.

Unit 15 is about the different ways to evaluate and test student.
There are a number of ways to check the language level and progress of our student.
We can employ tutorials, evaluation by the students, and test.
Tests are given at different stages of the cours.
Placement tests (level test) are given at the beginning of the course to determine the language level of the student/.
All four skills (reading, writing, listening, and speaking) are teste.
The test is divided into two parts: written exam and the spoken intervie.
Questions in both parts progress in difficult.
Diagnostic tests are also given at the beginning of the course to determine the strengths and weaknesses of the students, as well as their aptitud.
It helps the teacher focus his/her planning on the gaps in knowledg.
Progress tests are given periodically at different times throughout the cours.
It may be unit tests, term tests, mid year exams, or end of the year exam.
Test items included cover lessons within the given period to check that learning is taking plac.
Practice tests are used for revision purposes for internal (progress tests) and external exam.
It must follow the same form and content of the real exa.
External proficiency exams are divided into three categories: General English, Business English, and Academic Englis.
General English exams such as the Cambridge Suite has five levels of exam: KET, PET, FCE, CAE, and CP.
Where KET and PET are entry level exams (elementary and intermediate levels simultaneously), FCE is the required level (upper intermediate level) for an ESL certificate, and CAE and CPE are both advanced level exam.
Business English exams include the TOEIC, Cambridge BEC, and BULAT.
The TOEIC is used for employing and promoting staff members in a work-place settin.
It may also be used by some universities for entry admission.
While the Academic English exams include the TOEFL and IELT.
Both exams are entry requirements for universities where English is the primary languag.
Both test all four skills as wel.
I've learned the importance of having various tests throughout the course, and what these tests aim to achieve for both the students and the teache.
As a student before, in my perspective, exams were a hassle and a way to rank students that either brought up or brought down our confidence in our abilit.
But having read through this unit and experienced being a teacher as well, my opinion on exams and my perspective on it have change.

Apply for your TEFL/TESOL Course!

  • 1The application process is free and does not commit you in any way.
  • 2Anyone fluent in English and aged 18+ is eligible for our courses.
  • 3No previous experience or qualifications are required.
  • 4Apply today and receive a free e-guide covering the basics of TEFL/TESOL.
Personal data
Choose your course
   Online Course
   In-Class Course
   Combined Course
Plans for your teaching career (optional)
Where would you like to teach? (optional)
The personal information we collect on this page will be treated in accordance with our privacy policy.
By submitting this form you declare to have read and agreed to the Terms & Conditions.